Regular Hours
  • Monday: CLOSED
  • Tuesday: 12 PM - 8 PM
  • Wednesday: 12 PM - 8 PM
  • Thursday: 12 PM - 8 PM
  • Friday: 12 PM - 8 PM
  • Saturday: 12 PM - 8 PM
  • Sunday: 12 PM - 5 PM
  • Hours may be affected by holidays, weather conditions and temperature - check our Facebook page or call if you're concerned we may be closed due to weather.
  • There may be special events that also affect our hours, including some Wednesdays when we close to the public at 5pm for our iDrive Rental Series - see our Calendar for more details.
Contact Us
  • 618.219.8515
  • 700 Raceway Blvd.
    Madison, IL 62060
Get Social
Recent News

Final Spring iDrive Series Race Brings out a Big Crowd

Final Spring iDrive Series Race Brings out a Big Crowd

The Spring iDrive Series has come to an end. The Spring Season was full of close finishes, packed classes, and excellent competition, and the final race of the season was no different, with 6 light drivers and 14 heavy drivers competing.

The first race of the night for the Light Class started out clean and the racers spread themselves out quickly. At the half-way point, Jason Jones had the lead with more than a car length on Scott McClendon Jr in second. McClendon was able to gain some ground on Jason and on the last lap was preparing for that winning pass. He took the chance coming around the final turn for the finish line but couldn’t make it work and tangled with Jones. Jason Jones held his own and earned a win for the first Light Class race of the night, followed by very close finish of Scott McClendon Jr second and Bobby Krug third.
The second Light Class race was very competitive, starting out with a side by side race for the top three that lasted the entire first lap ending with Scott McClendon Jr. in the lead. Our top two of Scott McClendon Jr. and Bobby Krug were able to pull away from the rest of the pack early, leaving the race of first place an exciting one. Krug was all over McClendon’s bumper for laps at a time, sometimes appearing to push him down the backstretch, but McClendon held his own and was able to keep the lead for a majority of the race. In the last couple of turns Bobby Krug looked to be sizing up the pass for the win and with a final turn pass, very similar to race #1, Krug was able to get past McClendon to take the final win of the night for the light class. Scott McClendon Jr. finished in second with Micah Floretta in third.


The Heavy Class brought out big numbers this week with a total of 14 racers in the class. iDrive regular Austin Russell moved up into the Heavy Class this week, bringing the heavy regulars some tough competition for the last week of the Spring Series.

The group moved quickly into a single file formation and Russell took the early lead, gaining more and more ground with each lap. The back of the field continued to fight it out but our top three ran away with it, giving themselves enough lead to comfortably stay up front with little competition. Heavy points leader Taylor Bowman was able to catch up to Russell and the two ran nose to nail for the last few laps. In the end Austin Russell was able to keep his position and take the win in the first heavy class race of the night, Taylor Bowan followed in second with Jeff Kraatz in third.

The excitement was strong as the second Heavy Class race began, and a few drivers got too aggressive on the start causing a tangle in the first turn. Austin Russell was again able to get an early lead and take off from a majority of the pack, but Taylor Bowman was hungry for that win he missed in race one and stayed on Russell’s tail for the first few laps. However, he didn’t have the speed and Russell was able to pull away from the rest of the group securing yet another race win. Taylor Bowman was second and Ken Williams third.

Being the final races of the iDrive Spring Series, this race determined the championship positions for this season of iDrive.

In the Light Class: Scott McClendon Jr. was the Spring Series winner, Jason Jones took home second, and Micah Floretta third.

In the Heavy Class: Taylor Bowman was the Spring Series winner, with Dennis Wilburn in second place, and Jeff Kraatz in third.


Full results from the iDrive Spring Series can be found here.


Thanks to everyone who supported iDrive this season. The Fall iDrive Series will begin on Wednesday, August 1. We’ll see you there!

No Comments

Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time.